Increase collaboration with your team members, while maintaining the quality of your content.
Consider that you have multiple editors managing content. Often, you'll need to review their work for quality assurance. Workflows allow you to customize how your team reviews and publishes content.
You decide what pages or content types you want to enable a workflow approval on. Enabling this is the first step in setting up workflow approvals. It provides the ability to request, accept, and decline approvals.
The Publishing Workflow within Agility is comprised of three parts:
To enable the Approval Workflow:
Before setting up the Workflow Roles, we will go over the types of roles used for this workflow.
There are 3 general roles that are used in this workflow:
Editors can only make changes to modules and cannot publish content. Once a change has been completed, they can send a "Request Approval" request to the person (Publisher) who is responsible for approving the changes.
Publishers are able to Edit Content and Pages, and Page Modules (make changes, save, publish, and un-publish). The Publisher will receive an Alert in their 'Tasks' notifications that a change has been made on a module and is requesting approval.
The main difference between a Publisher and a Manager role is that Managers are able to Create or Delete Content and Pages, and Page Modules, whereas Publishers can only edit.
Managers can be set up to receive alerts when content has been published.
Agility Users with Administrator access have the ability to change a user's role. To set up or edit a User and their role, go to:
Settings > User Management
You'll want to ensure your editors can't bypass or override your content approval workflow. This is controlled by setting the appropriate roles for your users. You can have full control over who must abide by your approval workflow, and who can override it.
Choosing the right permissions (roles) when adding users gives them a safe and streamlined environment when viewing or editing content. When adding users, you should select the bare minimum role that users will require.
Let's go over some of the best practices when adding new users and permissions in your Agility CMS:
Adding a user with the Reader role permission will grant them access into your Agility CMS, but only allow then to view your content without being able to Edit or Publish new content or modify any of your Content Models.
Adding a user with the Editor role grants them access to edit and create new items on the site. This user, however, can only save content and not approve or publish items.
Adding a user with the Publisher role grants them access to publish content or pages, in addition to edit access.
Sometimes you may want a user to be able to modify some specific content. This can be done by setting a user's role to Reader and setting security roles on the specific page or content item you want them to modify. Let take a look at an example of this.
After setting a user's permission to Reader, you can then grant that user the ability to only manage specific content, for example, within a Blog Posts List or Home Page
Navigate to the Security tab on a Content Type, Page or Page Module and add a new user to the list. This is a list of the users who have specific access to this item.
After selecting a user, You can then select the role you want to give the user, i.e. Publisher.
When the user is logged into Agility CMS with their new User Permission roles, the specific Content or Page(s) will be editable.
When an editor requests approvals for content, you'll have a task assigned to you. This allows you to manage your approvals in a central location.
Agility allows users to set up email alerts to be notified when there are changes made. There are different types of alerts that can be set up.
Here is a breakdown of the most common alert types:
Update: Users will receive an email notification when content has been updated.
Approve: Users will receive an email notification when content changes have been Approved.
Decline: Users will receive an email notification when content changes have been Declined.
Request Approval: Users will receive an email notification when Content is pending Approval (waiting to be approved).
Publish: Users will receive an email notification when content items are published.
To set up Alert Notifications, select the desired Page/Content, then click Alerts. Click on the '+' icon to add a new Alert.
Next, select the user you wish to add an alert to, then select the alert type you would like to add to the user and click Add Alerts.