Deleting and Restoring

We have all accidentally deleted content before, this article will cover what to do in case you or a content editor within your instance encounter any of the following scenarios:

Assets

To delete an Asset, head into your Assets Manager, select the asset(s) you wish to delete, then click the Delete Icon.

Asset manager in Agility CMS

To Permanently Delete a file from your Assets Manager, head to the Recycle Bin, select the asset(s), then click the Delete Icon.

Permanently deleting content in Agility CMS

You will be prompted with a message to confirm:

Deleting files in Agility CMS

If you've accidentally delete any files within your Assets folder, you can simply locate the item in the Recycling Bin.

Recycling bin in Agility CMS

To restore, select an item within the list, then click the Restore icon.

Restoring content in Agility CMS

Pages

To delete a Page or Page Modules, simple navigate to the desired Page or Page Module, then click on Delete

Deleting pages in Agility CMS

Note

Pages themselves that get deleted are not able to be recovered from the Agility Manager. If a page has been deleted from your site and you wish to recover it, please contact support@agilitycms.com.

Due to this, Agility has introduced an added security function when deleting pages; the user must now type out the page name before being able to delete the desired page.

Delete page confirmation in Agility CMS

I've deleted a Page, but I can still see it in my Sitemap with a red “!” symbol

If you had deleted a Page, but are still seeing it in your Sitemap with a red symbol, it is because that Content is also initialized in another locale. The Page will need to be deleted in all of the locales it has been initialized in to be removed from the Sitemap.

If a Page Module has been deleted within a Page, you can revert this deletion by using the History tab and selecting the last date you wish to restore the Page.

Revert deleted page in Agility CMS

 By Clicking on the History tab, you are able to view and recover previously deleted Modules or Content. The item with the green checkmark identifies the currently published Version of the Page.

Once you have selected the Version Date you wish to revert to, click on Recover This Version.

Recover versions in Agility CMS

Content

To delete an entire List of Content, or a Content Item, select your Content List or Item then click on the Delete Icon in the main Status Bar.

Delete list of content in Agility CMS

You will be prompted with a message to confirm:

Confirmation of deleted content in Agility CMS

To delete Multiple Items within a Content List, select the items then click on the Delete Icon above the list.

Selecting then deleting content in Agility CMS

To recover Content deleted within a Content List, select your Content List and head into the Recycle Bin.

Within the Recycle Bin, you can select the Item you wish to recover, and click on the Recover Button.

I've deleted Content, but I can still see it in my list with a red “!” symbol

If you had deleted some Content, but are still seeing it in your list with a red symbol, it is because that Content is also initialized in another locale. The Content will need to be deleted in all of the locales it has been initialized in to be removed from the list.

Content in locales in Agility CMS

Locales

To to issues that could happen within your Website or Application, deleting Locales cannot be done within the Content Manager.

If you would like to Delete your locale or need to have a language code changed, please contact support at support@agilitycms.com.