User Permissions

With Agility User Access, you're able to add or delete users as well as grant specific permission based access to the users in your Instance.

What Are Permissions?

When adding Users to your Agility Instance it’s important to consider what Role that user will have in relation to the management of your instance and content. 

Choosing the correct Roles and Permissions ensures they have a safe and streamlined environment to work in when viewing or editing content and can’t accidentally do something they shouldn’t be able to do. To ensure this, we recommend starting with the minimum permissions required and adding additional Roles or permissions as necessary. 

Available Permissions

These are the base-level permissions available in Agility CMS. They can be used to create Custom Roles (only available to Enterprise customers) and are also used in our built in Roles that you can find below.

Read - Grants a user access to "Read" something but not edit it

Contribute - Grants a user access to create something, and edit what they've created, but not something created by someone else

Edit - Grants a user access to change something

Approve - Grants a user access to Approve or Decline something that has been requested for approval

Publish - Grants a user access to Publish or Unpublish something

Manage - Grants a user permission to all settings, models and reports

Delete - Grants a user access to Delete something

Design / Develop - Grants a user access to Models and fields that are marked as "Designer Only"

View Reports - Grants a user access to the reporting section

Full Control - Grants a user full control over an instance, including all user management controls

Roles

To make assigning permissions as easy as possible, Agility has built-in Roles which each grant a specific set of permissions to a user:

None -  User has no access to the instance.

Reader - Can see Content, Layouts and Assets, but cannot make any changes.

Contributor - Can create new items (Layouts or Content Items) and Edit the items that they created.

Editor - Can create and modify items. Editors cannot add or delete Components; only update existing ones. 

Publisher - Editor permissions and can publish items.

Approver - Editor permissions and can approve items.

Delete - Editor permissions and can delete items. 

Designer - Editor permissions and can create Layout Models, and add Components to Layouts. Can define what Components appear in the Zones of each Layout.  Designer also has access to the Models section and many areas of settings.

Managers - Approver, Publisher, Designer and Delete permissions.  Can also access all of settings as well as delete Groups and Content Containers.

Admins - Full and complete access to the Instance.

Custom Roles - Learn More

Additional Resources